2026 FIFA World Cup

The 2026 FIFA World Cup, also known as the FIFA Men’s World Cup 2026, will be 23rd FIFA World Cup, the quadrennial international men’s football championship contested by the national teams of the member associations of FIFA. The football tournament will take place from a yet to be determined date in the June to July 19, 2026. It will be jointly hosted by 16 cities in 3 North American countries: Canada, Mexico, and the US. This FIFA World Cup will be the first tournament hosted by three nations. Argentina is the defending champion.

2026 FIFA World Cup

FIFA Men’s World Cup 2026

This tournament will be the first to include 48 teams, expanded from 32 teams. The United 2026 bid beat a rival bid by Morocco during a final vote at the 68th FIFA Congress in Moscow. It will be the first FIFA World Cup since 2002 to which will be hosted by more than one nation. With its past hosting of the 1970 and 1986 World Cups, Mexico will become the first country to host or co-host the Football World Cup three times. The United States last hosted the World Cup in the year 1994, whereas it will be Canada’s first time hosting or co-hosting the men’s football world cup. The event will return as its traditional northern summer schedule after the 2022 edition in Qatar was held in the month of November and December.

Also Check: How much 2026 FIFA World Cup tickets will cost ?

World Cup 2026 Qualification

The 2026 Football World Cup’s qualification process has yet to be decided. The United Bid personnel anticipated that all three host countries would be awarded automatic or pre-qualification status. On August 31, 2022, FIFA President Gianni Infantino confirmed that 6 CONCACAF teams will qualify for the World Cup, with Canada, Mexico, and the United States automatically qualifying as hosts. This was confirmed by the FIFA Council on 14 Feb 2023.